Any angle photo machine

JoeJoe
edited April 22 in Photography

Unfortunately I can't post much jewellery related content at the moment as my shops shut and we are on the 5th week of lock down here in the UK I think but if Im really honest I don't really even know what day it is. But I decided I want to make a machine to automate VR web picture images, So I can improve my website as this looks like the way we will be doing business for a while yet .

I came up with this rough design and I'm sure it will be improved as I go on. I cant find anywhere that will deliver the right size belts I wanted to use initially, so I figured I would just make big cogs instead !

I purchased a filament printer to have something to play with when I was on lockdown. I'm new to this type of machine but with a bit of experimenting I was impressed by what it could do. Im just using PLA at the moment which is easy to use but I suppose I will find out what is what as I go along.

The idea is to put the jewellery on the circular platform . then the machine will go about its business taking the pictures saving me having to do it from all upper angles.

First part off the printer. I cant believe how accurate it is for such a wobbly machine or maybe I just got lucky. I cad the bearing shaft at 30mm it ended up at 29.95 mm. I was well shocked !

I have set a time lapse up for the second cog build so we will see how that goes tomorrow with a bit of luck !

Revo mills ,resin printer ,Rhino, Deskproto & MS Paint

Comments

• Wow, looks like a lot of fun! Can you cast the prints?

• No,well yes but not with the setup I have .Its called lost PLA casting looks interesting Dont think the printer has enough resolution for jewellery

• Nice! looks really useful for making big parts. or even casting parts of metal molds. From experience, a salamander crucible serves for melting a few kilos of bronze in a small electric kiln, could most likely do an aluminum melt as well.

• 😁